Today I received my IQ score results.

Any guesses? Your guess is as good as mine at this point. I need to calculate it. I will try to keep this post as short as possible.

So this is how it went down. I don’t believe in IQ tests, and I don’t even want to take an IQ test. For most of my life I figured my elementary school results were the same as an IQ test. But I got curious.. you could say I’m obsessed with figuring out my IQ. I always wondered… Heck, in my mind, I thought I could write my own IQ test. That’s literally how confident I am, was, and still am/is/are.

So far, I have collected my IQ score from multiple sources. I will list them below in the order of easiest to calculate to hardest to calculate.

1. When I was 27, a doctor with an MD from American University of Beirut, Masters and PhD in neural engineering from USC, told me several times my IQ was “Genius” level and “Very high”.

This source I count as an aggregated piece of data, because I already knew it was very high. I’ve been told I’m smart all my life from friends, family, teachers, coworkers, bosses, internet strangers. The list of references is quite extensive.

2. I took the entrance exam for The Founder’s institute, the world’s largest startup accelerator. You only receive a score of pass or no pass along with your archetype. While this is not an IQ test, it is actually a 3 part test that includes a personality test. I think I did horribly on the personality part, I’m not sure because the test results are very cryptic.

So what I did was just email the testing company that administered the test for the school. I asked them for my score and they said I “did very well”. I found through them that the test is based out of 5 with an average student entry admission rate of 2.5/5.0. I found that all mentors must also take the test, and the average mentor (instructor) score was 3.5/5.0. My weighted score was approximately 3.2/5.0 as a student. I scored almost as high as a mentor.

But only 1/3rd of the test is an IQ test. On that part of the test, it is based on the “Culture Fair IQ Test”. I scored above average on it, but did not get results for an exact score. But it was high enough that my Founder Institute results came back as “Prodigy” archetype, which comes from having your highest score come from the IQ part, and lower scores on the other parts.

I also wanted to note that I took half of a Culture Fair IQ Test and my result was “Your performance was not that strong.” It was just a free online test so it was stupid anyways. I wanted to note this because the Culture Fair IQ Test is probably my worst performing test out of all tests I’ve taken. I’m very unfair in that regard.

Both of the above are just supporting examples. The true IQ test is below.

3. So I finally discovered a credible source for my IQ test results. I went to find the “High IQ Societies” and then looked up the highest among them. Most people think about Mensa which requires the top 2%, but I discovered that there were many and the most exclusive was Mega Society which requires you have an IQ in the top 0.0001 percent.

So I went to check out their website and see what criteria they used for IQ. Turns out calculating IQ is actually a very complicated process. I mean, you have to have high IQ to even calculate your IQ. I’m not even joking. So anyways, after poking around, I decided to read Mega Society’s journal. I read all 32 pages of Noesis, the Journal of the Mega Society, issue #201, July 2016 (Link here).

On page 16, it reads:

” LA public schools have great gifted programs, but because the school system is financially strapped, they can serve only a very limited number of students. Basically, you accumulate gifted program lottery tickets and hope your name is drawn for a program. We were lucky. Or your kid can get in by scoring 145 or higher on a group administered IQ test, which is an iffy proposition for a first- or second-grader, no matter how gifted.”

Now I did not attend an LA public school. I attended OC public school, which is much much better than LA by any measure. Everybody knows this. I live in OC and work in LA by the way. So it’s all very local.

But lets backtrack, or flashback time. Back in elementary school…

Now I don’t remember whether it was 4th grade or 5th grade at the time. I think it was 4th grade, but- Actually lets just be quick with it. So I took the CST or California Standardized Test. Then all of a sudden, the next week or whatever, whenever test results came back, I suddenly got a notice. They said I must attend the GATE program, also known as the gifted program. It literally said it was mandatory. I thought I was in trouble.

Now, at the time, you don’t receive your CST results. But, my GATE program acceptance (there was no choice anyways) said entry was limited to a select number of students based on their test scores, their academic scores, and overall academic blah blah. This was in 2002, so at the time, I believe the gifted program was literally just founded. I know for a fact that my class, the GATE class of 2002 was the first class to have computer training as part of the program. It was the first time I’ve ever seen a computer in a school.

Now I didn’t have good grades. I had almost perfect grades. In fact, I recall maybe one or two times that I didn’t get a good grade on an assignment. My ending class rank in 5th grade was 2nd in my class of approximately 650 students. I was 2 out of approximately 650 for 4th grade too.

(Before that, I didn’t go to Iva Meairs Elementay (when I attended, school was rated Silver by US News). I went to a couple different schools, and I started off in ESL (English as a Second Language) classes because I’m an immigrant and Vietnamese is my first language. Oddly enough, English is my strongest part on standardized tests.)

Who was rank #1? It was my best friend at the time, Tri. Tri sat literally in the seat next to me, he was rank 1 and I was rank 2. We just dominated everything. Tri was also the salutatorian or rank 2 when we went onto middle school. What’s he doing now? He’s a proud PharmD, a pharmacist.

At the end of the school year, there was an award called “The Golden Apple Award” given to only 1 student out of the entire school of approximately 2,500 students. And guess who got the award? Tri did. And I was very happy for him. Because guess who got called to receive runner-up? I did. I was the runner up for the Golden Apple Award. So at that time, when I was about 10 years old, I was ranked 2 out of 2,500 or 2/2500.

So at this point, we know that my score is well above 145, 145 being the minimum requirement for “Genius” level.

But did I mention that out of my GATE gifted class of 20 or so students, I was rank 1? By far. So far in fact, nobody even knows who was 2 or 3 or 4. I did so well in gifted classes that I got to go home early most days. Every day I would come in, do the gifted work really fast, then rush home. So I could play video games with my little brother at home. Usually we played street fighter, then I went to Karate class.

The gifted classes were a breeze. They were so easy. Why? The classes were mostly based around creativity. The majority of the gifted program focused on improving your creativity and that was so easy for me. I might suck at many things, but creativity is not one of them.

Conclusion: So my IQ score is at minimum 145, and I was objectively ranked 2 out of 2,500, which says nothing about whether I am 1:1000, 1:1250, or 1:10,000. It just means I am a minimum of 1:1250 if we want to keep it simple, and even that is wrong. Technically, now that I think about it, it means I am am minimum of 1:1498, or 1 out of 1498 at a minimum.

This puts my IQ in the 99.9th+ percentile, or the Top 0.1% and above. Meaning an IQ of at least 145-149, with at a standard deviation of 15 or 16.

Now, I argue that because I use as my primary source the IQ test results from when I was 10 years old, I go by the children’s IQ test score ranges/customs and not the adult IQ test score ranges/customs. Now this becomes an argument.

There are 3 main arguments (and like a thousand more arguments, but I don’t have all day) here:

  1. One could argue that IQ scores from childhood are not valid because IQ can change over time (and that itself is another argument). I did, after all, perform only good but not great on the SATs and received an average score on my GMATs (although for both I did not study much, and I never finished math in high school but that’s another story for another day…)
  2. Almost nobody argues #1. I just put #1 there in case somebody would be dumb enough to say that measuring IQ before you have obtained knowledge and experience in life, meaning the younger you are the more accurate it is (to a certain degree because too young and you don’t even know how to read or write to take the test in the first place), with the exception of having a bad childhood or upbringing which would offset this and so your adult IQ score will be higher than your child IQ score. Funny isn’t it.
  3. IQ test results for virtually all IQ tests are extremely bad once you hit the ceiling or go beyond 140. It is easy to argue that I hit the ceiling on at least 1 universal IQ test administered very strictly.

So what is my IQ? Nobody really knows.

I’m will say.. about 160. Honestly that’s way too high. I would think it’s more like 150. It could even be higher than 160, but no way I’m going to make that claim.

Conclusion? We need a better IQ test measurement, but I’m not saying that the current ones are broken. It’s just that when you score above 140 or 145.. well you literally need a genius to calculate your IQ score results.

In any case, I will just say I have a verified IQ of 146-150+. That is the safest score I can have. Although I chose 150 arbitrarily. So I will just say I have a verified IQ of 146+. The maximum IQ range is I think, theoretically 205 without using technology.

It just sounds so stupid to say that I have a verified IQ of 146+. It would be more accurate to say 150 or 160, but I cannot verify that. Go with a lower verified or higher unverified? This is a tough choice. You know what, I’m just going to go with my gut instinct on this.

Final Answer: IQ 145+

P.S. I should really turn my obsession into a job and create a more accurate (in my opinion much more accurate) IQ test for both children and adults. Hey… that’s a good idea.. Oh and thanks to Mega Society for pointing me in the right direction, although I self-read, I just wanted to cite the source.

 

Leave a Reply

